The Goth Family: Chapter 1

It’s been almost a year since Erik died, I still can’t quite believe it. To make it worse he died on our honeymoon.  We had only just begun our journey together.  There were so many things we wanted to do, so much we dreamt of achieving.  None of that would happen now, well not together at least.

This morning I find myself standing in front of Erik’s grave, something that has become part of my daily routine.  Most mornings I sit here and tell Erik what’s been going on in my life which I have to admit is usually very little.  Well to be honest I used to sit when there was a bench here.  It was something I have had for a long time, might have been my mother’s actually. Anyway the wood was in a very poor state and was unsuitable for use so I had to take it to the junkyard.  I was going to get a new one but I saw the fountain, liked it so I bought that instead.  Wow that is really not like me acting on impulse like that.   So as I was saying I stand in front of Erik’s grave now.  I am not one for sitting on the ground, some people enjoy that sort of thing I know but not me.

I looked at Erik’s grave and sighed deeply.  This was harder than I had thought.  “Erik, I hope I find you well? I have come to tell you something important today.  After hiding away from the world for so long it is time for me to get my life back on track.  It was last night that I realised I didn’t want to spend the rest of my life alone.  I’ve spent too long shutting people out and wallowing in my grief.  Yes I miss you more than anything and I always will but I can’t keep putting my own life on hold.  I know you wouldn’t want me to do that.”

Shutting people out, I had gotten so used to spending my days in solitude that I had forgotten I did that.  Directly after Erik’s death I have shut myself away from everyone including Cornelia, my sister.  Looking back I am ashamed to say I was jealous, it didn’t seem fair that she still had her husband and son both very much alive when I had nothing.  Things have improved in recent weeks but our relationship is still not what it was. Erik’s death was a hard time for me and I was hurting a lot but I should never have taken it out on Cornelia. Although I am beginning to think there was more to the relationship with my sister breaking down than just Erik’s death but I’m not ready to talk about that yet.  Still trying to figure things out with that myself.

My days since his death have all been fairly similar I wake up, get washed and dressed, go talk to Erik, have breakfast then go down into the basement to study alchemy.  Yes you did hear that correctly, you see soon after Erik’s death I heard that there might be a way to bring Erik back using alchemy.  As a result I brought every book on the subject that I could find.  Despite all the studying I have done though I have yet to find any mention of a way to bring back the dead.  I am beginning to realise that whoever it was who told me about it was just trying to make me feel better.

Today was going to be different.  There would be no hiding in the house for me anymore. It was high time to get my life back on track.  First thing I did was fire up the computer and apply for a journalism job at Doo Peas Corporate Towers.  It has been a long held dream of mind to work in journalism.  With that out of the way I drove to the salon. I felt a change of style was long overdue.  

The woman in the salon, though dressed a bit oddly was actually very friendly and helpful.  She listened to what I said and told me her ideas.  Emma was her name I think.

“I don’t want anything too over the top” I told her “Just an update on what’s already there.”

“Sure no probs” The Emma told me.  “Let me see, well you have great hair so a simple restyle should sort things out there.  As for your outfit.  I have something new in you can try.  It’s of similar style to what you’re wearing.”

I gave Emma the go ahead and grinning she got to work.  It felt good to do something for myself like this, it had been too long.

When Emma had finished I stood in front of the mirror again.  I could hardly believe the what I saw, was that me? Yes I was still wearing black but that’s OK.  What I couldn’t get over was how much younger I looked.

The neckline on the blouse was more daring than I would have chosen myself.  I smiled as I imagined the look on Cornelia’s face when she saw me wearing this.  It was worth keeping it just for that!

A feeling of dread came over me at that moment.  That was where I needed to head next.  It was time we sat down and had a long talk.  We needed to get things sorted out between us. Sighing I turned away from the mirror and made my way out of the salon.

It is only a short drive to Goth Manor from the salon and it isn’t long before I find myself heading towards the front door.  Goth Manor has been in Gunther’s family for generations and has had little alteration done on it.  In my opinion it is showing it’s age.  It is definitely looking tired.

As it turns out Cornelia wasn’t at home, her son Mortimer greeted me instead.  I can’t help but wonder who leaves a child of his age home alone?

“It’s great to see you Aunt Agnes.” The boy tells me with great enthusiasm.  “Are you feeling happier now?”

Such a sweet boy.  Mortimer was of course referring to my immense sadness over Erik’s passing.  From what I remember Cornelia telling me Mortimer spends a lot of time with a girl called Bella.  I have heard of the girl and her family and it seems she is a good influence on my nephew.  Her kind nature has definitely rubbed off on him.

Mortimer asks me if I can stay for a while.  “It gets so lonely sometimes” he tells me.  “Mum & Dad seem to always be working. Can you stay a while?”

“Of course” I reassure him. “Anything for my favourite nephew.”

“Thanks Auntie” Mortimer grins and he gives me a big hug as thanks.  Just that one small act has made me feel so much better.  It was nice to see the kid actually, he is always a ray of sunshine in my dark and lonely world.

After sitting with Mortimer for a while and helping him with his homework I heard someone approach the house.  I got up and looked out of the window hoping to see Cornelia.

“Agnes” Gunther said with mild surprise. “You’re looking better. Can I ask why you are here?”

I smiled politely. While I had nothing against my sister’s husband we have never really talked all that much.  Cornelia usually makes sure of that, she has always seen any woman even myself as a threat to her hold on Gunther.

“I came to talk to Cornelia.” I explained. “There are obviously still issues the pair of us need to address.”

“I’m afraid she is still working.” Gunther told me with a friendly smile. He appears to have had his hair cut shorter and has gotten rid of that stupid hat.  I for one think he looks better for it.

Gunther made us tea and we talked for quite a while.  Mortimer excused himself and disappeared upstairs.

“You know Mortimer is always welcome to come visit me after school.” I suggested.  “I can’t bear the thought of the poor thing in this big house all alone.”

“That is very kind” Gunther said, “I will let him know.”

Gunther turned and looked out of the window.  A sad expression appeared on his face.  For a moment I thought he was missing Cornelia but then he looked at me again.

“I imagine Cornelia has told you about Lolita?” He said suddenly.

Yes she had but only what she wanted me to know.  That Lolita was Gunther’s first wife who died in a tragic accident involving a faulty appliance shortly after the wedding.

“A little.” I confessed “I know she was your wife.”

“Lolita was more than just my wife.” Gunther said sadly. “She was my first love.   Loosing her was the worst day of my life.”

After Gunther finished his story I asked if I could see her grave.  Gunther said I could and I went outside.  I hadn’t realised Gunther and I had been talking for so long, it was already dark when I walked to the graveyard.  Lolita’s grave was easy to find, it was the only one with flowers on it.  Clearly Lolita meant a lot to Gunther, in a way looking at her grave reminded me of Erik’s.

I went home that evening feeling a lot better about things.  Although I hadn’t managed to talk to Cornelia, I felt my relationship with my brother-in-law had improved greatly.  Clearly neither of us realised just how much we had in common.  Gunther had even joked that maybe he’d married the wrong sister.  That was something I quickly pushed out of my head.  Despite my relationship with my sister not being on the best of terms I would never steal her husband.  The one thing I prayed for though was that Cornelia didn’t find out about my talk with Gunther.  Knowing how jealous she can be that would not help mend things between us.

2 thoughts on “The Goth Family: Chapter 1

  1. Pingback: New Stuff | TinyPiglet's Hub

  2. Pingback: Chapter 8.3 Ageing up and Getting out | The Mendoza ISBI

Leave a comment